The Oklahoma Bankruptcy Attorney fee for a Chapter 7 personal wage earner case is $965.00.
The Oklahoma Bankruptcy Attorney fee for a chapter 7 self employment or personal business related bankruptcy case is $1165.00.
The Court filing fee is $335.00 (effective June 1, 2014).
Married persons may file jointly for no addition charge. However, just because you are married does not mean you both have to file. A married person can file without joining their spouse.
Other type of cases will vary and a fee quote can only be given after your free initial consultation.
We require $200.00 down to retain our services. The balance can be paid at 200.00.00 per month until paid. You can, of course, always pay extra or early. Once you have retained our law firm, you may refer your creditors to us when they call you as is your right under the Fair Debt Collections Practices Act.
In a Chapter 7 case, the fee must be fully paid before the case can be filed. Chapter 13 cases do provide for payment of some attorney fees after the case is filed. They may be paid through the Court appointed bankruptcy trustee after the Chapter 13 plan has approved by the Bankruptcy Court.
CALL US AT:
800-699-5893 Toll Free
Email us at:
Terry D. Bigby, Attorney at Law
429 S. Muskogee
Tahlequah, OK 74464
Free Credit Report:
Credit reports can and should be obtained free of charge by going to the website annualcreditreport.com
Practices as an Oklahoma Bankruptcy Attorney
Licensed in Tulsa Bankruptcy Court and other Oklahoma Bankruptcy and State Courts
We help clients from all Northern and Eastern District of Oklahoma towns and cities including but not limited to: Tulsa, Broken Arrow, Jenks, Owasso, Bartlesville, Miami, Pryor, Claremore, Sapulpa, Sand Springs, Bixby, Glenpool, Okmulgee, Haskell, Collinsville, Nowata, Vinita, Grove, Tahlequah, Stilwell, Sallisaw, Muldrow, Roland, Stigler, Poteau, McAlester, Wilburton, Talihina, Broken Bow, Durant, Atoka, Henryetta, Wagoner and many other cities and towns.
Why no payment plan in chapter 7 cases after the case is filed?
When you file for bankruptcy protection, you must disclose all of your creditors in your petition. A creditor is someone to whom you owe money at the time of your filing. If you owe your bankruptcy attorney money when your case is filed, he or she becomes a creditor.
The ultimate goal for most people who file for bankruptcy protection is to get their debts discharged, or ordered uncollectable by the Judge. When your discharge is ordered, the money you owe your unsecured creditors (including your attorney) that was disclosed in your petition is uncollectable. Which means, a creditor (including your attorney) cannot ask or demand you pay the debt after your case is filed with the court. If he or she does ask or demand that you pay the debt, you can sue the creditor (and this includes your attorney) for violation of the Automatic Stay and/or the Discharge Injunction provisions of the Bankruptcy Code and Fair Debt Collection Practices Act. (FDCPA).
Here are some other examples of practices by some creditors (including bankruptcy law firms) that violate bankruptcy law and FDCPA, and would entitle you to a monetary award:
1.Cashing post-dated checks after your case was filed
2.Sending you a collection letter after your case was filed
3.Calling you and demanding payment after your case was filed.
I hope this helps you to understand why we can not set up a payment schedule with you that extends beyond your bankruptcy petition filing date.